Getting Ready for NaNoWriMo 2013

NaNoWriMowin2012

NaNoWriMowin2012

This year, NaNoWriMo will be more challenging than ever for me. I will no longer be employed solely as a writer/non-profit worker setting my own schedule this year. So my process will be rather different this year. Especially as I am also moving out of the State in the first week of November. All the more reason to be more prepared than usual before November 1st hits this year.

In the midst of packing up my entire life, filming my first movie (as director/actress/singer), applying for jobs and many happenings in my personal life, NaNoWriMo preps will be challenging. So, I’m starting today.

My process this year:

  1. choose book to write this year
  2. research and choose character names
  3. research and choose location for story
  4.  outline gist of book
  5. set a generic calendar for completion for NaNoWriMo writing
  6. prep work space for days leading up to move
  7. keep a work space prepped and clean for writing once I move
  8. get some scented candles, matches, etc. ready for writing times
  9. get a few more yummy tea flavors for writing sessions
  10. tell closest friends that I’m planing to do NaNoWriMo this year and get their encouragement

 

Well…here goes.  Step 1.  Best of everything to all the other NaNos this year as you prepare!

5 thoughts on “Getting Ready for NaNoWriMo 2013

  1. I have two writer friends who are embarking on NaNoWriMo this year, and I’m going to be a cheerleader for them on the sidelines. It’s such a cool idea, I just don’t know that I have it in me to write that quickly. Good luck to you! I signed up to follow your blog so perhaps I’ll get the progress updates. 🙂

    • RitaJuanita says:

      That’s great! We so need the cheerleaders! 🙂 And thanks for following. Hopefully my progress and ideas will be helpful to some people. And for yourself: you should sign up and at least try. You might be surprised. And, even if not, I didn’t win my first year, but that didn’t matter. It got the juices flowing. I’ve won both years since then and self-published my first novel, two cookbooks and more since that first attempt at NaNoWriMo. 🙂

  2. J. Dominique says:

    Best of luck to you!

  3. […] Getting Ready for NaNoWriMo 2013 (juanitamillhouse.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

